My Perfect Saviour

Dogged bits of despair keep clinging to me lately.   I see my sin and shame in these dark places as a palpable,  insurmountable thing, robbing me of every promise.  The eyes of my soul are stuck on me and not my Lord.

Why do I choose to wallow in my own sin? Is it not forgiven? Am I not free of condemnation? Has He not cast His righteousness upon me? If Christ is for me, who can be against me?  Why do I choose to gaze upon this ocean of darkness within me when there is a glorious sunrise before me? When I take my eyes off Him there is only me to see.

Isaiah 26:3  says, “thou wilt keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on thee; because he trusteth in thee”.

What is perfect peace? If it is perfect, it can only come from the One who is the embodiment of perfection in all things.  Is there anything more glorious “to stay my mind upon” than my perfect Saviour?

Peace, Joy, Gratitude, Love are all gifts to the mind which chooses To look upon Jesus–to celebrate His life and triumph–choosing to forget the old in favour of the One who makes all things new–including me.
Philippians 4:7

7And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. 8Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things [are] honest, whatsoever things [are] just, whatsoever things [are] pure, whatsoever things [are] lovely, whatsoever things [are] of good report; if [there be] any virtue, and if [there be] any praise, think on these things. 9Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

This means Lord that I must “think on” You–because only You are all these things–true, honest, just, pure, lovely, virtuous–You, You only, are deserving of all praise.

Thank you, perfect Father God, for giving us your perfect Son to be my Saviour.

Jesus Christ is my Saviour from despair, from death, from hell—-and yes, He even saves me from myself.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment